Button

Clemmons Fire Department 


RESIDENTIAL GUIDELINES FOR OPEN BURNING IN FORSYTH COUNTY​​

Burning of  manmade debris (trash) is unlawful in the state of North  Carolina, regardless of how or where it is burned.  Garbage pick-up is provided to all county residence either as a service or for a modest charge. Additional information can be obtained by calling your local  government or local waste carrier.

Burning of vegetation such as yard trimmings, pruning,  leaves, etc. which originated on the property is allowed, unless pick-up by your local government is provided (Clemmons does provide pick-up service, so burning is not allowed). In those areas where burning is allowed, the smoke from the fire must not create a nuisance, and the fire must be completely out by 6 PM. The burning must start no earlier than 8:00 a.m. and no additional combustible material may be added to the fire after 4:00 p.m.

If yard waste pick-up is provided as a service to all citizens, it is illegal to  burn. You are not allowed to burn within the  Village of Clemmons because Clemmons provides leaf/limb service.

Burning of land clearing materials such as logs and stumps is allowed only if strict conditions are met.
 
Before burning contact the Village of Clemmons to verify  that all conditions are met. No fires should be left unattended and should occur more  than 50 feet from a structure. A nearby water supply  
and/or fire extinguishing equipment should be readily  available as stated in the Forsyth County Fire  
Prevention Code.

Absolutely no burning is allowed for anyone when a  
burning ban is in effect. These bans are authorized  
through the Forsyth County Fire Department and/or the  
North Carolina Forest Service when atmospheric  
conditions or local circumstances make burning a  
hazardous.

For More Information Contact one of the followingt
Forsyth County Environmental Affairs Department
at 336-703-2440
or
Village of Clemmons
at 336-766-7511

-Additional Links for Information- 



Village of Clemmons Ordinance 
Forsyth County Open Burning
North Carolina Forest Service
NORTH CAROLINA OCCUPANT RESTRAINT LAWS 


All drivers and front seat passengers, regardless of age, must be properly buckled up.

All children less than 16 years old must be buckled up in either the front or back seat.

Children younger than age 8 and who weigh less than 80 pounds must be properly secured in a child restraint (CR).

Car booster seats are a type of CR that can be used for older and larger children if lap and shoulder combination belts are available.

Lap-only seat belts can be used for children over 40 pounds if no lap and shoulder combination seat belt is available.

 Belt-positioning booster seats must not be used with just a lap belt.

CRs for children less than age 5 and less than 40 pounds must be installed in the rear seat in vehicles with active passenger-side air bags.

When a child reaches age 8 (regardless of weight) OR 80 pounds (regardless of age),
a correctly fitted seat belt may be used instead of a CR to restrain the child.

Placing the shoulder belt under a child’s (or adult’s) arm or behind the back is dangerous and is illegal.

Children less than age 12 are prohibited from riding in the open bed of a pickup truck or other open cargo area.

Drivers are responsible for obeying these laws.

The Clemmons Fire Department will assist you in installing your car seat or checking a previously installed seat. 
For information call 766-4114
FAQs

Q: Can I burn inside the village limits of Clemmons?

A. Open burning is not allowed in the Village limits of Clemmons.


Q: How can I get a free smoke detector / battery?

A. Free smoke detectors/batteries are available to residents in the Clemmons Fire District. You may call 336-703-2550 to request one.


Q: Where can I get a copy of a Fire Incident Report?

A. Copies of incident reports may be obtained thru the Forsyth County Fire Marshal's office located at 3000 Aviation Dr.  Winston-Salem.

Q: How can I schedule the fire department for an event?

A. By contacting the station at 336-766-4114.